Jasmine or Fern?

I’m still struggling with what to draw for my second assignment… If I sit at home and try and decide from scratch what my next subject will be I get absolutely nowhere. I need to be in a garden, or in a nursery, or just in nature to get inspiration.

People often try and give me ideas, and it never works (namely my Mother – love you, Mum) I get a feeling when I see the right flower or plant, I can’t really explain it.

This time is was a new nursery I discovered in the New Forest in Hampshire. I couldn’t make my decision there and then, and came home with a house Jasmine, and an interesting looking Fern.

I’ve had them a week and I still haven’t decided. In fact, I’ve started drawing the Jasmine and I’m still not sure I’ve made the decision, what do you think? Maybe I’ll have time to do both…

JASMINE:

ImageImage

OR FERN?

Image

13 thoughts on “Jasmine or Fern?

  1. I think it is a very personal thing which I can’t explain – what makes you really want to paint a plant you see. For me it would be the jasmine for the assignment because it will show more versatility and probably make a more pleasing composition. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

