Bold Washes

One of things I love about watercolour is the way you can build up layers of washes to create different effects. You can lay down really bold colours first, and when other colours are layered on top, everything can soften together and create a really interesting effect. I’ve demonstrated this with an ivy leaf.

I kept my mix for this really simple. Indathrone Blue  and Hansa Yellow Light (both Daniel Smith).

I determine first which areas of the leaf are facing away from the light, and which parts are not. This is a general impression, the details of shadows are added in later.

On the areas away from the light I laid down a wash of Indanthrone blue, and areas facing the light I laid down a wash of Hansa Yellow Light.

IMG_5509

 

I then use a mix of the two to add in the details, now adding areas of shadow.

IMG_3543

 

I’ll go and finish painting it now!

IMG_3317

One thought on “Bold Washes

Leave a Reply

